Dear Parker, No. 7

It’s still Monday. I started to type this last night but got distracted and didn’t get it posted. Better late than never – I’ll blame Daylight Savings Time.

The big event from last week was my walk on Monday. My friend, Fat Girl On Fire, and I met at a nearby trailhead to walk together. It was the first time I met anyone to walk together and I really enjoyed it. Actually, that’s not entirely true. A few years ago, I would somewhat regularly meet up with a local group of moms. But for a variety of reasons, I just never kept it up and it didn’t work out.

It was also the first time either of has had walked that particular trail. We found out it was a bit more narrow than I realized and had a hill or two, but we enjoyed the trail and the company.

The next day, another friend asked me if I might ever want to meet up with her to walk together. I told her absolutely!

My numbers aren’t great this week but I did study a little. Recently, my Weight Watchers meeting moved from a “site” to a dedicated storefront. At the storefront, we no longer use little paper folders to track our meetings and progress because they have dedicated computers. It’s pretty cool because by the time I leave the weigh-in area to take my seat, my phone app already knows my updated weight. Before we left the site, they let me take my folder home to keep.

The thing about my folder is… it was pretty thick. In fact, it was thicker than pretty much any folder there. If I had been any other member, they probably would have trashed my folder during one of their regular purges. If a member fails to attend over so many months, they assume the member dropped and trash the folder. Technically, I am a lifetime member so I never have to pay a registration fee or missed meetings whenever I come back. In addition, I happen to know a couple of the receptionists outside of the meetings. One of them told me she “knew” I would come back eventually so she never threw out my folder. Over the years there were a couple of long absences but every time I went back, my folder awaited me!

This week, I went through my folder. I knew my weight had gradually climbed from my “all time, post 2005 low,” but I wondered how far I was from my “average low.” (This all makes sense in my head. I don’t know if it makes sense in anyone else’s head, but mine, yes.)

Here’s what I found:

Every year I started off the year on a downward trend in January that evens off in March. Beginning in March, I start a yo-yo pattern that gradually works its way up the scale. This year I need to break that cycle.

I’m very glad I analyzed the data. Let’s see how well this works!

My Goals Summary & Update

Not-Entirely Off Season Training: For 16 weeks, walk 4 days a week, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and one more, and I’ll consider myself successful with 75% completion.

25% completion. Yeah it is what it is.

Weight Loss:

* 10 pounds by Mother’s Day, which will represent the half-way mark.+0.4 lbs this week, -3.8 lbs down6.2 to go.

* 25 pounds by Labor Day, which will be the lowest I’ve weighed since before I had kids. +0.4 lbs this week, -3.8 lbs down, 21.2 to go.

* 40 pounds by Martin Luther King Day, 2014. I can’t tell you the last time I weighed that little but it could be 21 years. +0.4 lbs this week, -3.8 lbs down, 35.8 to go.

0.4 lbs up. It is what it is. I’m ok with that because I’m still more down than I am up and I’m still progressing to my goal. I have to nip it in the bud but small gains are part of the process.

Leave a comment